Hiring Events: Dec 5: Concho Valley | Dec 7: Texoma | Rural Captial Area | Dec 8: Texoma | Lubbock | More Job Fairs
TWC will perform system maintenance on Saturday, December 3 resulting in a two-hour intermittent outage starting at 10:00 pm. This outage will affect TWC web applications such as Unemployment Benefits Services, WorkInTexas, and Unemployment Tax Services.
Texans Fight Fentanyl

Overview

TWC administers the Texas Payday Law, which allows for the investigation of an employee’s claim of unpaid wages. Wage problems often can be cleared up by discussing them with your employee.

An employee can submit a wage claim up to 180 days after the date the claimed wages originally became due for payment. If part of the employee’s unpaid wages were due within 180 days, a claim can be submitted for only that part.

Return to Top

How to Respond to a Wage Claim

After we receive a wage claim, we will mail you a copy of the wage claim along with an Employer Response to Wage ClaimPDF form. That form provides important information about your responsibilities as an employer.

Submit your response no later than 14 days after the date the response form was mailed to you.

Mail or fax your completed response form, along with any information necessary to support the response.

Texas Workforce Commission
Wage and Hour Department
101 E 15th Street, Rm 514
Austin, Texas 78778-0001

Fax: 512-475-3025

If your address or phone number changes, it is your responsibility to notify the Wage and Hour Department in writing immediately.

If you have questions regarding the wage claim process, call the TWC Wage and Hour Department at 800-832-9243 or 512-475-2670.

Return to Top

Wage Claim Investigation Process

TWC takes the following steps on a wage claim:

  • When we receive a wage claim, we mail an acknowledgement letter to the employee making the claim. The acknowledgement letter provides a brief overview of the wage claim process and notice of receipt of a claim.
  • We notify the employer by mail that a wage claim was filed and request a response from the employer. We send the employer an employer response form with a photocopy of the claim and any attachments submitted.
  • Once the wage claim investigation begins, an investigator may contact either party for additional information as needed.
  • Based on the investigation, TWC makes a decision in the case in the form of a Preliminary Wage Determination Order and notifies the employee and employer by mail. If either the employee or the employer disagrees with the decision, each has rights to appeal.

Return to Top

Appealing a Wage Claim Decision

To appeal our wage claim decision, the appealing party must send a written request or submit an appeal online within 21 days from the date of the Preliminary Wage Determination Order decision notice. If you submit your appeal by fax, then the appeal date is the date and time TWC received the appeal.

Return to Top

Collection Action

TWC's Wage and Hour Collections Unit takes collection action on Preliminary Wage Determination Orders and appeal decisions once those rulings have become final. Collection authority is established under the Texas Payday Law and Payday Rules. Wage and Hour Collections staff do not have the authority to alter wage claim rulings.  If an employer did not receive notice of a ruling, disagrees with that ruling and did not get an opportunity to appeal that ruling, the employer may request an appeal as noted above.

Return to Top

Contact Information